Former name:          University of Travancore
Motto:                      Karmani Vyajyate Pradnya
Motto in English:     Wisdom manifests itself in action
Established:              1937
Founder:                   Chithira Thirunal Balarama Varma
Chancellor:               Governor Of Kerala
Vice-Chancellor:      Gopinath Ravindran 
Location:                  Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Affiliations:              UGC
Website :         

The Kerala University was established in 1937.

The University has several departments that offer a wide range of educational programs.

Controller of Examination
The Controller of Examinations
Senate Campus
University of Kerala
Palayam, Thiruvananthapuram
0471 2305946

Official Concerned Phone number
B.A Exams 0471-2386423
B.Com Exams 0471-2386105
B.Ed/M.Ed Exams 0471-2386458
BSc. Exams 0471-2386423
Cash Counter 0471-2386355
CBCSS 0471-2386432
Computer Centre 0471-2305801
Controller of Examination's Section 0471-2386400
Engineering Exams 0471-2386246
Law/Fine Arts Exams 0471-2386448
Medical Exams 0471-2386273
P.G Exams 0471-2386407
Revaluation 0471-2386243

Campus Address
University of Kerala
Senate House Campus, Palayam
Thiruvananthapuram - 34
Kerala, India

Telephone : +91-471-2305994, +91-471-2386228, +91-471-2305840 (16 Lines)

Fax : +91-471 2307158


Public Relations : +91-471-2305738

One of the first 16 Universities in India and the first in the state of Kerala, the University of Kerala was founded as the University of Travancore in the erstwhile princely state of Travancore (now southern part of Kerala and some neighbouring parts of the state of Tamil Nadu) in 1937. During the 7 decades since the University of Kerala grew and shrunk physically and transformed itself in many ways.

The earliest origins of the University may be traced back to two institutions of modern learning in Kerala, the University College, Thiruvananthapuram and the Trivandrum Observatory. The University College was initially founded as the Maharaja's Free School by Maharaja Swathi Thirunal in 1834, with Mr John Roberts. A Christian Missionary as Headmaster, and soon grew into a college in 1866, affiliated to the Madras University. When the University of Travancore was founded, the Departments of the college became the University Departments, only to switch back again when the transformation to University of Kerala happened in 1957. The University College still retains its connection with the University as an affiliated college. The Trivandrum Observatory was founded in 1838 and had an internationally reputed scientist, John Caldecott FRS as its first Director. It became a part of the Travancore University, but for some time was administered as an independent government institution. It is now the oldest institution under the Kerala University.

The University of Travancore was established in 1937 by a promulgation of the Maharajah of Travancore, Sri Chithira Thirunal Balarama Varma who was also the first Chancellor of the University. Sir C. P Ramaswamy Ayyar, the then Diwan (Prime minister) of the State was the first Vice-Chancellor. He was an eminent scholar and an able administrator. It is said the Government made an unsuccessful attempt to invite Albert Einstein to be the first Vice-Chancellor. The University was modelled after the best Universities of the United Kingdom, and even today retains some of these features. The affiliating system of the University, however, evolved to be different from the college system in British Universities.

Only ten colleges within the State of Travancore, which was at that time affiliated to the Madras University, became the affiliated colleges of the University of Travancore. In 1954, the unified state of Kerala came into being with most of Travancore and whole of the state of Cochin and Malabar area of Madras presidency becoming part of it. The Kerala University Act (Act 14 of 1957) was brought into force and the University of Travancore was renamed University of Kerala. The University had three campuses located in three different parts of the State viz. Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam and Kozhikode. The number of affiliated colleges grew phenomenally. However, in 1968, the University Centre at Kozhikode became a full-fledged University, the University of Calicut, affiliating the colleges located in Thrissur, Palakkad, Kozhikode and Kannur districts of Kerala and transforming the Kozhikkode Centre into University Departments. The Cochin University of Science and Technology - CUSAT -(1971), Kerala Agricultural University (1971) and Mahatma Gandhi University (1983) were subsequently established, with CUSAT taking over the University's centre at Cochin. These developments have shrunk the jurisdiction of the University of Kerala to Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Alappuzha Districts and some parts of Pathanamthitta District.

Post a Comment